By 3 August 2017 | Categories: Misc



The Institute of Information Technology Professionals SA (IITPSA) has called for nominations for its annual IT Personality and Visionary CIO of the Year Awards.

Now in their 39th year, the IITPSA Annual President’s Awards recognise South Africa’s leading CIOs and IT Personalities at the ICT industry’s premier gala dinner. This year’s awards dinner will also serve to mark IITPSA’s milestone diamond 60th anniversary, and the start of the next chapter for the Institute. It will launch a range of new programmes and a stepped up membership drive, say Ulandi Exner, President & Director and Tony Parry, CEO of the IITPSA.

First established in 1957 as the Computer Society South Africa (CSSA), the IITPSA has evolved with the changing ICT environment. It now serves and represents a vastly expanded membership from all levels of the ICT Industry, as well as hosting its annual President’s Awards – long regarded as the industry’s leading accolades.

The IT Personality of the Year Award recognises a person who has made an outstanding impact on the SA ICT industry over the past year and a significant contribution to the IT profession. The Visionary CIO of the Year Award recognises an executive in the corporate IT environment who has demonstrated visionary leadership in applying technology to grow and transform business. The Distinguished Service in ICT Award recognises a significant, career length contribution to the ICT profession or the ICT industry, and the Fellowship of the Institute Award is given in recognition of an individual who has made an extraordinary contribution to the institute or the profession as a whole.

Past winners of these prestigious awards include Barry Dwolatzky, Sbu Shabalala, Mteto Nyati, Alan Knott-Craig, Andile Ngcaba, Mark Shuttleworth, Aleta Ling, Ivan Epstein, Asher Bohbot and Gian Visser; Engen’s Peter du Plooy, the FSB’s Tshifhiwa Ramuthaga, Patrick Monyeki, Sandi Macfie, Sello Mmakau and Sal Laher.

Nominations can be submitted here by 20 August, 2017.

A panel of leading ICT sector judges will announce a shortlist of finalists, with the winners to be named at the awards dinner on Wednesday 8 November this year.

Issued by ITP Communications on behalf of the Institute of Information Technology Professionals of SA (IITPSA). For further information or interviews, please contact Leigh Angelo or Kabelo Phalane at Tel: (011) 869 9153 or email: or



Magazine Online is South Africa's leading magazine for tech product reviews, tech news, videos, tech specs and gadgets.
Start reading now >
Download latest issue

Have Your Say

What new tech or developments are you most anticipating this year?
New smartphone announcements (19 votes)
Technological breakthroughs (16 votes)
Launch of new consoles, or notebooks (10 votes)
Innovative Artificial Intelligence solutions (12 votes)
Biotechnology or medical advancements (18 votes)
Better business applications (86 votes)